View Sportsbooks, Odds and Promotions available in your state.

backgroundLayer 1

CFL Futures

CFL futures are the odds that are set for events that will take place later in the Canadian football season. These odds are determined by factors like the player’s or team’s recent results, standing, and the time of season. CFL odds can change as time goes on, depending on various factors.

To Win Outright

CFL Futures

Those looking for the best CFL betting markets are usually attracted to the point spreads, totals, and props. However, CFL futures bets provide some of the most valuable odds and shouldn’t be neglected ahead of the 2023 Grey Cup.

What is a CFL Futures Bet?

A CFL future bet is a wager on a particular outcome from any given season. Futures bets involve placing a wager on an expected outcome of the future, whether it’s the winner of the CFL Grey Cup, which teams win their division, or OVER/UNDER how many games a team will win during the season.

Future odds for the next season are usually released when the current season ends, allowing bettors to find significant value months in advance of the season beginning.

The most common CFL futures bets are:

  • Outright winner of the Grey Cup
  • MVP – The most valuable player of the year award
  • Winner of the East division
  • Winner of the West division
  • Which team will compete in the Grey Cup final

Understanding the CFL Futures Odds Market

The 2023 Canadian Football League’s  14-game regular season will begin next summer, and a new Grey Cup champion team will be crowned in November 2023 at the Grey Cup championship game, which is an exciting prospect for many football bettors.

During the 2022 season, the Toronto Argonauts defeated the Winnipeg Blue Bombers (24-23) in the Grey Cup final to become the CFL champions. Despite the Blue Bombers’ position as the favorite team to win with the expectation to collect their third consecutive Grey Cup, the Argonauts defied the betting odds and won it all.

These two teams are, to no surprise, listed as top contenders in the CFL futures betting market for the 2023 season.

2023 CFL Grey Cup Outright Winner Top 5 Favorites

  • Winnipeg Blue Bombers [+200]
  • British Columbia Lions [+340]
  • Calgary Stampeders [+500]
  • Toronto Argonauts [+500]
  • Hamilton Tiger-Cats [+750]

Oddsmakers are giving outright winner odds for the 2023 CFL Grey Cup, but they have no game data to rely on. This is where knowledgeable CFL enthusiasts can find betting value because the betting lines are set based on the data and performances from the past season. And as the Argonauts proved this year, the underdog can prevail, and the Blue Bombers won’t continue to win the trophy every season.

When placing future CFL futures and studying the betting odds, and as we can’t work with statistical data and current performance, paying attention to the Grey Cup history can also be an identifier of who owns experience at winning the big prize.

CFL Grey Cup Historical Winners

The Toronto Argonauts are the most accomplished CFL team, with 18 Grey Cup-winning seasons. Edmonton and Winnipeg have won the cup 10 or more times and are the second most-accomplished teams.

CFL Grey Cup Winners since 2012:

  • 2022 – Toronto Argonauts
  • 2021 – Winnipeg Blue Bombers
  • 2019 – Winnipeg Blue Bombers
  • 2018 – Calgary Stampeders
  • 2017 – Toronto Argonauts
  • 2016 – Ottawa Redblacks
  • 2015 – Edmonton Eskimos
  • 2014 – Calgary Stampeders
  • 2013 – Saskatchewan Roughriders
  • 2012 – Toronto Argonauts

Numbers don’t lie, and priced at +500 to win the 2023 Grey Cup; a future wager be on the Argonauts is an intriguing position to be in.

CFL Division Futures

The CFL comprises two divisions, the East Division and the West Division. And alongside outright Grey Cup winner odds, you can also place a future wager on which team you believe can win their respective division.

CFL East Division

  • Toronto Argonauts
  • Montreal Alouettes
  • Hamilton Tiger-Cats
  • Ottawa Redblacks

CFL West Division

  • Winnipeg Blue Bombers
  • BC Lions
  • Calgary Stampeders
  • Saskatchewan Roughriders
  • Edmonton Elks

However, when making a divisional CFL future betting choice, ensure you find the best odds from a reputable and trustworthy sportsbook. CFL future odds will vary in price from sportsbook to sportsbook, so it’s essential to shop for the best lines and place your wager once you’ve found the best available value.

Season Win Total Futures

Each week during the CFL regular season, sportsbooks will adjust their over/under CFL win totals for each team. Teams projected to achieve success will have had win totals set at a higher number before the season starts, while the lesser-threatening teams will have been placed with lower season total win odds.

If the Argonauts are projected to win 11 of their 18 regular season games, a win total of 10.5 is a likely proposition from the sportsbook. This would require bettors to wager over or under the total, depending on how many games they believe they can win. The Redblacks, who only won 4 of their 18 regular season CFL games, will have a low win total of around 5.5 or 6. If you believe the Redblacks have made significant squad improvements during the offseason and can accomplish 6 or more wins, betting the over on the 5.5 season win total would be the bet to make.

Due to their simplicity, season win totals are an extremely popular future wager for CFL fans to bet. However, following sports betting trends won’t always produce a successful win total prediction, as current data doesn’t always reflect the outcome of an upcoming season.

iconDownload the app
Follow us on

© OddsTrader 2024 All Rights Reserved

21+ Seek help with a gambling addiction at 1-800-Gambler. OddsTrader is licensed to operate in NJ, NY, PA, IN, CO, IA, IL, VA, WV, TN, CT, MI, AZ, LA, WY, OR, KS, DC, MA & OH.