Best Time to Bet on the Next Heisman Trophy Winner

The 2021 Heisman Trophy for quarterback Bryce Young during a press conference. Bryan Bedder/Getty Images/AFP

It’s never too early to begin thinking about the upcoming college football season and the stars who will emerge, becoming part of the Heisman conversation.

Let’s talk about when to bet this prop and take an early look at who the candidates are that could very well take home the hardware.

The Time is Now…or is It?

The college football odds on the 2022 Heisman Trophy winner are now available at many of the best U.S. licensed sportsbooks like BetMGM, Caesars Sportsbook, Bet365, and several others that operate throughout the country. But is it feasible to plunk down your hard-earned money this early?

The simple answer to the question is no, not yet.

Learn More: How to Bet on NCAA Football – College Football Betting Guide

There is still plenty of time to ascertain which skill players will dominate next season and it is always a good idea to see who will be healthy heading into August and September because, should an injury occur to your choice(s) during the practices and scrimmages in the offseason, then it could sink any hopes you have of cashing that ticket when the Heisman Trophy balloting is finished.

The best time to make this wager would come a week or two before the start of the regular season. You will be able to see which players have had solid camps and make sure their place in the starting lineup hasn’t been usurped by an incoming freshman or transfer talent.

Learn More: How to Find Value on College Football Player Props

There is no reason to bet a prop without as much information as possible so be patient and wait for the games to begin!

Quarterbacks Win Heisman’s

Since the 2000 season, 18 of 21 Heiman Trophy Award winners have been quarterbacks, starting with the immortal Chris Weinke of Florida State. Most of these Heisman quarterbacks enjoyed NFL careers to one degree or another but the 2003 winner, Jason White, became just the third Heisman Trophy winner not to be drafted and the only one never to play professional football.

Learn More: Preparation For a New College Football Season

Pete Dawkins, who played halfback at West Point, won the award in 1958 but eschewed the pros to become a Brigadier General in the United States Army. Florida State quarterback, Charlie Ward, won the award in 1993 but instead chose to play professional basketball and was selected 26th overall by the New York Knicks.

Learn More: Betting College Football the Smart Way for Those Getting Started

The three non-quarterback Heisman winners in the 2000’s are Alabama running backs Mark Ingram (2009) and Derrick Henry (2015) while the Tide’s stellar wideout, Devonta Smith, captured the award in 2020. Therefore, if you are thinking about tossing a few bucks on a wide receiver or running back to win the 2022 Heisman then make sure you are getting a handsome reward to justify your risk.

The 2022 Heisman Candidates

Below is an early look at next season’s Heisman Trophy Award college football odds for the top candidates and you will undoubtedly notice that the majority are the men under center, including last year’s winner, Bryce Young.

  • Bryce Young (Alabama-QB) +200
  • C.J. Stroud (Ohio State-QB) +400
  • Caleb Williams (TBD-QB) +900
  • Bijan Robinson (Texas-RB) +1500
  • D.J. Uiagalelei (Clemson-QB) +2000
  • Will Anderson, Jr. (Alabama-LB) +3000
  • Dillon Gabriel (Oklahoma-QB) +3000
  • Treyvon Henderson (Ohio State-RB) +3000
  • Spencer Rattler (South Carolina-QB) +3000
  • J.T. Daniels (Georgia-QB) +3000
  • Tyler Van Dyke (Miami-QB) +3000
  • Jaxson Dart (TBD-QB) +3000
  • Kedon Slovis (Pittsburgh-QB) +4000
  • Quinn Ewers (Texas-QB) +4000

And remember to check back for more betting strategy at the OddsTrader blog. Happy betting! is your sports betting command center. Read featured betting strategy compiled from a panel of leading sports betting experts.

Site Footer